Auschwitz Concentration Camp

Auschwitz concentration camp poland

A photograph taken in the late 1960s of a watchtower and fence at Auschwitz Camp.

Auschwitz (Oswiecim) concentration camp was a group of German Nazi concentration camps and extermination camps built and operated by the Third Reich in Polish areas annexed by Germany during World War II. It consisted of three main camps: Auschwitz I, Auschwitz II–Birkenau, Auschwitz III–Monowitz, and more than 40 satellite camps.

Related content on the Polish Poland site: Stutthof Concentration Camp near Danzig / Gdansk.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply